8 Books That Changed My Life

I believe that every book is a teacher that teaches you something new, something different. I have never read a book that has not taught me anything. Now what you learn from the book depends on the genre, the writer, the language and even your own perception. Often times you won’t even remember the entire book or its story or its words but trust me those words that you read carry significance with you for that specific time. Books are not supposed to be stringent teachers, in fact they are supposed to be lenient, integral friends that show you a different side of the spectrum and often at times leave you with the greatest wisdom.

photo of person flipping book page
Photo by Lisa Fotios on Pexels.com

Now as I said, I believe that every book has its own charm and its own bewilderment, however as a reader you do have preferences of genres and writers. And I am pretty sure that we all have had those books that contain our favorite characters, lines, quotes, imagery and what not. Those books that just entangle your brain in prepossession, give you warmth and make you a better person. Here are a few of those that I’ve encountered in my life yet:

  1. Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare

Shakespeare is greatly known for his bewildering plays and romantic tragedies. In fact this was the very first play I read of the ‘Bard of Avon’. It is a classic Shakespearean tragedy, it makes you laugh, cry, and make you sad and happy. It takes you on a toll when suddenly the plot takes a completely different turn that you would never expect as a reader. I have learned a lot about the writing style of Shakespeare and the plots he writes, the intricacy with which he writes them and definitely the charm of his character development. In fact this book houses two of my favorite characters in literature, Benedick and Beatrice. For a detailed book review check out my blog “Much Ado About Nothing” By Shakespeare.

My favorite quote from the book: “If I had my mouth, I would bite; if I had my liberty, I would do my liking. In the meantime, let me be that I am, and seek not to alter me.”

Image result for much ado about nothing book cover folger shakespeare library
Picture Courtesy: www.simonandschuster.com

2. Aleph by Paulo Coelho

Aleph was one of the books recommended by my gracious English teacher of grade 8. Her choices were always amusing for us avid readers so I ended up buying this book and took it with me on my travelling expeditions that same year. And I have never been happier with a travelling book as I have been with it. It is one of those philosophical books that invigorate your thought and alter your speech such that you remember the words of Aristotle himself. I have learned many life lessons from the life of Mr. Coelho himself and this book is an exquisite example of wisdom in its purest form. I also wrote a detailed book review on it if you want to know more about it, “Aleph” By Paulo Coelho.

My favorite quote from the book: “Sometimes you need to travel far away to find what is near.”

Aleph by Paulo Coelho
Picture Courtesy: penguinrandomhouse.com

3. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

This book was then again a recommendation from the same teacher. Thus I bought it and even though it took me a long time to read it, I completely fell in love with it and it houses one of my favorite literary characters, Lord Henry. His philosophical comments at the oddest times and his witty conversations with Dorian Gray are priceless. In fact one of my very good friend have graciously accepted to fulfill my weird wish of being buried with a copy of it (I am sorry I know this is getting a little morbid). Nonetheless a peculiar but prepossessing read.

My favorite quote from the book: “Every portrait that is painted with feeling is a portrait of the artist, not of the sitter.”

Image result for the picture of dorian gray
Picture Courtesy: barnesandnoble.com

4. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khalid Hosseini

This book has made me learn a lot about the struggles women face in other societies and in other parts of the world. It opened my eyes to the reality of it all and it was such an empowering book that I would gladly pull all-nighters just to finish the book or to see the next plot twist. Khalid Hosseini has never ceased to amaze me with what he has written and the unfathomable depth of what he writes. This book was not just a story, it was a journey with Mariam and Laila (if you don’t know who they are, then go read the book yourself). I could not stop myself from writing a detailed book review on it “A Thousand Splendid Suns” By Khaled Hosseini.

My favorite quote from the book: “A woman who will be like a rock in a riverbed, enduring without complaint, her grace not sullied but shaped by the turbulence that washes over her.”

Related image
Picture Credits: wolfgangs

5. The Prophet by Khalil Gibran

Some books don’t just tell you a story, they hold your hand and make you feel as if you are a part of it. The Prophet is a book whose poetry has made me apprehend so many truths of life, it has given me so many experiences that I cherish till today. It is a book that has calmed the troubled waters of my mind numerous times. The lessons, the wisdom and the expertise of Gibran’s words stays unparalleled in this plethora of literature.

My favorite quote from the book: “A voice cannot carry the tongue and the lips that gave it wings. Alone must it seek the ether. And alone and without his nest shall the eagle fly across the sun.”

Image result for the prophet kahlil gibran
Picture Courtesy: amazon.com

6. milk and honey by Rupi Kaur

It is a book that has told the tale of a strong woman and which has empowered me to be more than what I believe I can. It has told elongated stories in just a few words and this is what makes it such an important book. It has made me a better person and a better human. It has inspired me to inspire those around me to do more and that they are worthy of what they have and everything more than that.

My favorite quote from the book: “how is it so easy for you to be kind to people he asked. milk and honey dripped from my lips as i answered, cause people have not been kind to me” 

Image result for milk and honey book
Picture Courtesy: amazon.ca

7. Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Sherlock Holmes was one of the first of my favorite literary characters and he still makes that cut. The way his witty and genius outlooks tend to always have a twist is just bewildering and it has never failed to surprise me. He is truly a piece of art especially his irreplaceable partner, Dr. John Watson. The two partners are the best literary creation for me.

My favorite quote from the book/s: “My mind,” he said, “rebels at stagnation. Give me problems, give me work, give me the most abstruse cryptogram or the most intricate analysis, and I am in my own proper atmosphere. I can dispense then with artificial stimulants. But I abhor the dull routine of existence. I crave for mental exaltation. That is why I have chosen my own particular profession, or rather created it, for I am the only one in the world.” 

Image result for sherlock holmes book
Picture Courtesy: amazon.ca

8. You Can If You Think You Can by Norman Vincent Peale

This book has motivated me immensely in my life and has aided me in altering the way I looked at challenges in my life. It gave me strategies to deal with the difficulties in life and gave me incessant lessons that gave me the patience to endure and persevere. Thus this book was like a mentor for me and has guided me ever since. It was not much for a twelve-year old girl to pick this out from the aisle in the book shop but it carries infinite significance for the fifteen-year old girl who still keeps it on her bedside table.

My favorite quote from the book: “Courage can be many things, but the secret of courage is simply and honestly to admit your feelings of failure. And then with God’s help go on and do your job in spite of them.” 

Image result for you can if you think you can
Picture Courtesy: amazon.ca

2 thoughts on “8 Books That Changed My Life

Leave a comment